The Win Column is a hockey website, focused on providing critical analysis on trends and stats for the Calgary Flames and NHL.

Based in Calgary, AB, but with 10 team members spread across Canada and the United States, The Win Column is dedicated to providing unique, engaging content for hockey fans, primarily for the Calgary Flames.

With a wide array of content that appeals to a diverse audience, The Win Column is the top independent Flames blog on the Internet. We provide in-depth coverage on all things Flames, the NHL Draft, free agency, trades, and top news stories.

The Win Column also leverages the unique skillset and background of a diverse writing team to create inventive content. Using engineering principles and video analysis to dissect important hockey plays, developing and using statistics-based models to evaluate players and teams, and presenting complex datasets in accessible data visualizations are just a few of the unique topics covered at The Win Column.

Some featured works include debunking controversial high stick calls using anthropometric databreaking down NHL roster compositions, and effective data visualizations. We like to delve into the advanced statistics world and use insights from sites like NaturalStatTrick to fuel our analysis.

We also work to evaluate the NHL using our own models and evaluation tools, including a unique statistics based NHL Power Rankings, the TWC Player Offensive Evaluation Tool, and analytics based visual recaps for Flames games.

We cover a variety of topics including fantasy hockey, DataViz, the NHL Draft, Prospects, and international events.

The Win Column proudly supports diversity and inclusion initiatives including Black Lives Matter and created the first Hockey Diversity Pledge to encourage accountability and antiracism in hockey.

The TWC Team

Karim Kurji

Founder, CEO

Calgary, AB


Bill Tran

Founder, Editor in Chief

Ottawa, ON


Jon Donville


Fort Worth, TX


Boyan Demchuk


Toronto, ON


Aman Kurji


Calgary, AB


Emily Hutchinson


Calgary, AB

Raja Boury


Calgary, AB


James Johnson


Calgary, AB


Myles Ecklund


Red Deer, AB


Drew Ostmoen


Prince Albert, SK


Auddie James


Calgary, AB



Official Mascot, Furry Friend

Calgary, AB



Want to join our team?

Get in touch!


Want to work with us?

Back to top button