Calgary Flames

A history of Flames award winners

The Calgary Flames have been in existence for 39 years. Tonight, captain Mark Giordano has the chance to make a mark on Flames history. Even with a rich history of top-tier defenceman including Al MacInnis, Gary Suter, and Paul Reinhart just to name a few, no Flames defenceman has ever won the Norris Trophy as the league’s top defender. He is also in contention to win the Mark Messier Leadership Award. Remember, Giordano was awarded the Muhammad Ali Sports Humanitarian Award in 2017, an honour given by ESPN to a single athlete across all sports. Giordano currently sits ninth in franchise history for points, and is arguably one of the best players ever to wear the Flaming C.

Also up for an award tonight is Sean Monahan, a finalist for the Lady Byng trophy for sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct. This is the first year he’s been a finalist for an award, but Flames forwards Johnny Gaudreau and Jiri Hudler won the award in 2017 and 2015 respectively; there could very well be a Flame taking home this trophy for the third time in five years.

The Flames have won a collective 21 individual awards in 39 years of history; perhaps that number will grow to 24 tonight.

Hart Trophy: Most Valuable Player

The Hart Trophy is awarded to the league’s “most valuable player”.

The Flames have never had a Hart Trophy winner.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy is awarded to the player who “exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability”.

Flames players have taken home this trophy four times:

  1. Joe Mullen – 1987
  2. Joe Mullen – 1989
  3. Jiri Hudler – 2015
  4. Johnny Gaudreau – 2017

Vezina Trophy

The Vezina Trophy is awarded to the league’s “top goaltender”.

Only one Flames goaltender has ever won the Vezina, the best goalie in franchise history:

  1. Miikka Kiprusoff – 2006

Calder Memorial Trophy

The Calder Memorial Trophy is awarded to the “rookie of the year”.

Three Flames players have won the Calder trophy. The most recent Flames finalists are Dion Phaneuf in 2006 and Gaudreau in 2015.

  1. Gary Suter – 1986
  2. Joe Nieuwendyk – 1988
  3. Sergei Makarov – 1990

Art Ross Trophy

The Art Ross Trophy is awarded to the league’s “top point scorer”.

Only one Flames player has ever won the Art Ross, the best player in franchise history:

  1. Jarome Iginla – 2002

James Norris Memorial Trophy

The James Norris Memorial Trophy is awarded to the league’s “top defenceman”.

No Flames defender has ever won the award. Yet.

Conn Smythe Trophy

The Conn Smythe Trophy is awarded to the league’s “most valuable player in the Stanley Cup playoffs”.

This award has gone to a member of the Cup winning team every year since 2003 when Jean-Sebastien Giguere won with the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim despite New Jersey winning the Cup. The Flames indeed had a player take home this award in 1989 when they won their Stanley Cup.

  1. Al MacInnis – 1989

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded to the player who most displays the “qualities of perseverance and sportsmanship”.

Two Flames players have won this award. Now, this award is usually given to players who have overcome a serious injury or illness and returned to play in the league. Former Flame Jaromir Jagr won the Masterton in 2016, then a member of the Florida Panthers.

  1. Lanny MacDonald – 1983
  2. Gary Roberts – 1996

Ted Lindsay Award (formerly the Lester B. Pearson Award)

The Ted Lindsay Award is awarded to the league’s “most outstanding player as selected by the NHLPA”.

Again, just one Flames player has won this award, the one and only:

  1. Jarome Iginla – 2002

Frank J. Selke Trophy

The Frank J. Selke Trophy is awarded to the league’s “top defensive forward”.

No Flames player has ever won this award. Mikael Backlund finished fourth in Selke voting in 2017, and could be a finalist in the years to come.

William M. Jennings Trophy

The William M. Jennings Trophy is awarded to the “goalie(s) with the fewest goals scored against”.

Again, just one Flames goaltender has won this award, and it’s no surprise that it’s:

  1. Miikka Kiprusoff – 2006

King Clancy Memorial Trophy

The King Clancy Memorial Trophy is awarded to honour a player for their “leadership and humanitarian contribution”.

Three Flames players have taken home the King Clancy Trophy, including winning the very first award all the way back in 1988. In 2018, Henrik and Daniel Sedin shared the award for the first time in its history.

  1. Lanny MacDonald – 1988
  2. Joe Nieuwendyk – 1995
  3. Jarome Iginla – 2004

Maurice Richard Trophy

The Maurice Richard Trophy is awarded to the league’s “top goal scorer”.

Flames players have won this award twice, both going to the same player.

  1. Jarome Iginla – 2002
  2. Jarome Iginla – 2004

In 2002, Iginla shared the award with Rick Nash and Ilya Kovalchuk, all three scoring 41 goals.

Jack Adams Award

The Jack Adams Award is awarded to the “coach of the year”.

Many pegged Bill Peters as a strong contender for the award this year, but only one Flames coach has won this award. Peters is almost a lock to finish fourth or fifth this year.

  1. Bob Hartley – 2015

Mark Messier Leadership Award

The Mark Messier Leadership Award is given to “a superior leader within their sport, and as a contributing member of society”.

Just one Flames player has won the award, but that could double to two tonight.

  1. Jarome Iginla – 2009

Good Luck

Good luck to Mark Giordano and Sean Monahan tonight. Hopefully they can add some hardware to the Flames’ trophy case.

Back to top button