Calgary Flames

Nazem Kadri selected to the 2023 NHL All-Star Game, full rosters announced

Nazem Kadri has been chosen to represent the Calgary Flames at the 2023 NHL All-Star Game. This year, the all-star festivities will be held on February 3 and 4 in Sunrise Florida.

Kadri’s 2022–23 performance

So far in the first half of the season, Kadri has 14 goals and 15 assists for 29 points in 39 games. Although his point pace is lower than his career-high last year, he’s been a key player on the Flames as they have worked their way through their on-ice hardships and growing pains. Kadri has been exemplary in his contributions, leading the cohort of first-time Flames this season on offence.

This is his second appearance as an all-star, having represented the Colorado Avalanche last season.

Former Flames as current all-stars

Matthew Tkachuk

The hometown Florida Panthers will have former Flame Matthew Tkachuk represent them, making it his second all-star appearance—his first coming back in 2020 when the event was in his own hometown of St. Louis.

He’s put up 20 goals and 27 assists for 47 points in 36 games played. This puts him at an 107-point pace which would eclipse his career-high of 104 points last season with the Flames. Tkachuk leads the Panthers in both goals and assists, with the next closest player being Carter Verhaeghe with 31 points (18G, 13A).

Johnny Gaudreau

Johnny Gaudreau will represent the Columbus Blue Jackets for his seventh go as an all-star. Gaudreau had represented Calgary for five consecutive years from 2015–2019, and then once more in 2022.

In 37 games, Gaudreau has 11 goals and 27 assists for 38 points. He’s just above a point-per-game pace—a marked decline from his career year last season. However, he still leads the Blue Jackets as he’s tied with Boone Jenner for first with goals, while no other player is remotely close in assists. In fact, Jenner is the next closest player with 22 points on the season in 30 games (he’s currently sidelined with a broken thumb).

Full all-star rosters

Here are the full rosters as named on January 5. The additional spots will be determined by a fan vote from January 12 to 14.

Pacific Division

Connor McDavidFEDM
Elias PetterssonFVAN
Erik KarlssonDSJS
Kevin FialaFLAK
Matthew BeniersFSEA
Nazem KadriFCGY
Troy TerryFANA
Logan ThompsonGVGK

Central Division

Cale MakarDCOL
Clayton KellerFARI
Jason RobertsonFDAL
Josh MorrisseyDWPG
Kirill KaprizovFMIN
Seth JonesDCHI
Vladimir TarasenkoFSTL
Juuse SarosGNSH

Metropolitan Division

Alex OvechkinFWSH
Andrei SvechnikovFCAR
Brock NelsonFNYI
Jack HughesFNJD
Johnny GaudreauFCBJ
Kevin HayesFPHI
Sidney CrosbyFPIT
Igor ShesterkinGNYR

Atlantic Division

Brady TkachukFOTT
Dylan LarkinFDET
Matthew TkachukFFLA
Mitch MarnerFTOR
Nick SuzukiFMTL
Nikita KucherovFTBL
Tage ThompsonFBUF
Linus UllmarkGBOS

Photo by Brett Holmes/Icon Sportswire

Back to top button